Some smaller towns just might surprise you…

During my week stay in Athens Ohio, I took the morning and afternoon, walking around the quaint but busy little town, scoping out residential areas, local food markets and clothing and accessory shops. Amongst the friendly people, the well known college (OU) and the history that envelops, I was awestruck by the breathtaking scenery that had stretched beyond the town. The best of both worlds, I thought!

Upon my search for new and interesting places, I stumbled across three awe-inspiring, locally owned and operated shops:

Beads and Things – I was working on a project and was told to check this place out. Once I got there, I noticed the beautiful house was shaded by beautiful trees, a lovely porch swing and that ”home away from home” feeling. I knew that I could spend hours here. That’s just how they treated you once you walked in too! They have everything you would need to put together any project, from simple to extravagant. Feathers, glass and wood beads of all sizes, leather pieces, sea shells and more for affordable prices!

The Thrift Store – I stumbled across this little shop the first day I ventured through. It is located on the corner of Stimson and State Street, hidden behind the Salon. The moment I walked in, I immediately saw an item I had been looking for weeks earlier. For only being open since February of this year, The Thrift Store had a lot of items; amazing condition and really affordable. The owner and her staff were so super friendly and helpful that I couldn’t help but lend a hand in moving furniture and fold clothing!

The Farmacy – Located on E Stimson Ave, I was told by a good friend of mine who lives in Athens, to give this place a try because it has fresh organic, healthy food items at a reasonable cost, that’s within the limits of where I am staying. She wasn’t joking! From homemade soups, salads and sandwiches, to freshly made smoothies of your choice, this is a highly recommended shop for anyone! As I walked around, sampling different ideas of what they have, I noticed that they had s section with all vitamins and herbs, spices and tea- in packages and ready to be sold! I was able to buy Echinacea, loose leaf tea, for only $2.68! For someone like me who drinks tea, eats healthy and cooks with authentic spices, The Farmacy is a fantastic place to find what you need and support our local markets!

Needless to say, it was more than I had hoped for during my stay in Athens Ohio. The people are friendly and there is so much history that surrounds you. If you happen to be pass through the Southern Ohio area, I highly recommend making a pit stop and enjoy the beauty and simplicity of this little town.

Published by

serinaruggeri

wayfarer*health nut*nationally certified fitness coach*writer !

Leave a Reply

