Unsettling Down

“There is no beauty without strangeness” Edgar Allen Poe –

This quote is engraved on my coffee mug, and it hit home this morning.

I am starving for thrill. We have 4 months. We are selling everything we have, and leaving with only what we can fit in our vehicles.

Fed up with the domesticated life, hubs and I made a huge decision this week – to stay unsettled for a while. Life is way too beautiful to be waiting for vacation days, paid time-off, or holidays. Every day should be as invigorating as this picture below.

mirrorlake

It is completely God that changed my husbands view and outlook on life’s simplicity and priorities. Swain used to be solely interested in settling down, one place, forever. I tried it, here and in NY, but as we grew as a couple, we both morphed into a one-minded being, wanting the same exact thing- to be a nomadic family.

And then we dove further into our search and found a slue of people doing the exact same thing we are planning on, and it was inspiring and a relief. What a rush.

I’ve never been one to ‘be settled’, and I don’t know why that is but what I have learned to do is to ask God to take my ‘unsettled spirit’ and guide me to do His will with it. I guess I just love the scent of different places, the laughter of people I don’t know.

This being said, our very first stop (Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise!;)) will be Maine, on the beach. Now, here is where YOU (my little nomadic clan) come in:) Do you have any places IN Maine that are better than others? What’s it like for a writer/photographer? Any suggestions or input will be so helpful to us. We are looking into a Christian network too, getting involved in a local church and working for people that need special services (cleaning, elderly care, pet sitting, snow removal, painting, etc;)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

serinaruggeri

wayfarer*health nut*nationally certified fitness coach*writer !

2 thoughts on “Unsettling Down”

  1. Oh love, love, love this! I have been trying to plant seeds of this with my own hubby, though I think it will take a long time to come to fruition. Right now we have teens, so I understand that selling everything and taking off in a car might be a bit unrealistic and unsettling for them. But I love this. Wish you the best and I will watch your journeys!

    1. Thank you so so much, you are so sweet!! Believe me, it took us a while to come to this! I wish you guys the best of luck and hope you can embark on this adventure someday soon!!

Leave a Reply

