Open letter to my best friend

There’s a reason why you have a best friend in your life. I don’t know anyone that has more than four best friends in their life. But I know that the status of a best friend is a big responsibility. It’s also an honor and a privilege to be called somebody’s best friend. As best friends, you share a special bond that no one else will understand. Being just friends with somebody is a different level than being a ‘best friend’. 

It’s never easy to lose a best friend,  especially one that you’ve been friends with for over 20 years. My experience is that as you get older you start to understand human life itself and how certain situations are more important than others and how you handle them is more important.

Without making it a long and drawn-out story, you are still my best friend. I’ve been thinking on off about the last couple of months of our absence from one another and realizing that it’s not a relationship that just falls by the wayside. Best friends happen over time, much like a callus. Something that isn’t easy to chip away or break away from. Falling outs happen, arguments happen, disagreements happen,  and changes always happen. But no matter the absence, best friends remain, well, best. 

Back in October,  before the Big Move and when the separation begin,  I was pretty much in denial for a couple of weeks. Then anger set in for a couple more weeks. And then sadness took place for a while after that. And now I am at a place where I know I’ve done all that I could and I can do and that no matter how long life will stretch our absence from each other, you will always be my best friend. Because that can’t ever change. I know that God has pulled us apart for a little while but I will always be the same person and when you come back, we will pick up right where we left off.

I can’t say that about a lot of people. In fact I can’t say that about any anyone because I only have one other person that I consider my best friend. So there’s that:) 

You are strong. You are beautiful and confident. And above all, you are a child of the Almighty God. And that is what makes us best friends again. 

I love you. 

Published by

serinaruggeri

wayfarer*health nut*nationally certified fitness coach*writer !

Leave a Reply

