Engage, Entice, Exist: 3 Ways to Stand Out

When I first started out as a freelance writer, I dabbled in many genres-from health and fitness to real estate and, well, plumbing! Most of this ended in failure because I was so new that I had thrown all of my eggs into one basket each time the basket was passed to me. But like many other successful freelancer writers in my clique, I never gave up, just gained mounds of exprience that I still find pretty useful today. I learned from Carol Tice, a brilliant freelancer and entrepreneur who was/is on-point about basically anything freelance related. If you get the chance to take a workshop or two, she really gives you more bang for your buck. She is accompanied by inspiring assitants and helpful bottom-liners that will encourage you along the way. You do not need to be an aspiring writer, as I found her tutorials to be of universal help.

Before we go into the meat and potatoes, let’s devour a few appetisers, shall we?

What are you passionate about (i.e. caretaking, children, petsitting, coffee, cleaning teeth, comfortable footwear, etc;) ?

Have you done any research (in your geographical area, web search, general info)?

These questions will help you determine what you want from your job(s). You may find yourself straying in a completely different direction or hating the orignial idea altogether but you will have an idea, on paper, and in your fore-front. So, start there.

Engage

Experienced or not, you know what you love to do, and more importantly, what you do best. Flaunt it. Wear it like your favorite outfit and expect compliments, expect questions and be ready to answer, engage, and offer. Your passion is your name badge, not just a decal on your bumper. Be your own agent. I love when I run into a person who knows their stuff and isn’t afraid to confidently tell me something about it. Engage with your supermarket attendant, your child’s school teachers, church groups, and people walking passed you in the park.

Entice

You are not going to win everyone over- and you don’t need to starting thinking that you have to! The right people will be enticed to follow. You can offer them something that they might want and need, but there is no need to convince someone that they need your service, product, etc;. Your love and driving force behind you will entice the right person. I never randomly give out my cards in hopes that i’ll get hired. When they compliment my scent, I have a sample oil ready. When they ask what I do, I tell them that I make their business stand out among the rest. done and done:)

Exist

I have come across many freelancers who have steady clients and when they take on new clients, their existance with their old-timers tend to dwindle, lack communication, or maybe isn’t as important. This isn’t saying that we don’t care about our faithful firstcomers, but the excitement of newbies takes over and we tend to pay more attention.

Don’t do this. Give every client the same attention, especially your current clients. Exist to be a part of their world (oh, Disney, you had me there) and offer to get to know them better and better each month/year.What works for me is taking a monthly phone chat with my clients, checking up to see how they’re doing, and just catching up with thier lives. You’re not bugging them, you’re helping them. They’ve hired you to be their hawk, persay. They are entrusting a piece of them with you. A monthly check-up call is the perfect way to show you care and to simply exist.

 When you’re ready to make your passion your life, you will have plenty of options to perfect your craft. If you have any questions or want to share your freelance experience, please do in the comments below! 

 

 

 

 

Published by

serinaruggeri

wayfarer*health nut*nationally certified fitness coach*writer !

Leave a Reply

